Saturday, 4 January 2014

Mirwaiz-led Hurriyat expels prominent leaders

Mirwaiz-led Hurriyat expels prominent leaders
Fissures have surfaced in the ‘moderate’ faction of Kashmir’s separatist conglomerate All-Party Hurriyat Conference (APHC) with its chairman Mirwaiz Umar Farooq terminating the membership of some key constituents represented by some senior leaders.
“The APHC has terminated the representation of Shabir Ahmad Shah [Democratic Freedom Party], Nayeem Ahmad Khan [National Front] and Mohammad Azam Inquilabi [Mahaz-e-Azadi] for their indiscipline, anti-Hurriyat activities and continued absence from meetings for the last over 18 months. Following their differences with some of the APHC leaders, we constituted enquiries, called them for cooperating with the investigation and maintain the organisational disciple. As they chose to be not amenable and ignored all invites and opportunities, we were constrained to fulfil the constitutional requirements. They are no more members of the APHC,” the Mirwaiz told The Hindu on Friday.
The Mirwaiz confirmed having mailed a letter, a copy of which is with The Hindu, to the APHC’s PoK convener Yousuf Naseem on December 27, following the APHC executive council’s decision, with the direction that the representatives of some constituents may no longer be invited to the group’s meeting in Muzaffarabad.

No comments: